Queensland Maroons

Queensland Maroons

The Queensland Maroons is one of the Australian rugby league team that represents the state of Queensland in the state of origin. The name Maroons originate from their usually Maroon jerseys.

In the state of origin tournament, the team plays against the rival New South Wales in three different matches.

The team is usually made of a representative team comprising of players who participated in their first senior rugby league games in the state of Queensland.


The state of origin concept together with the Queensland Maroon originates back in 1980. The league is played in a series of three games annually. The Queensland Maroons has a record of 21 wins out of 36 series played since the start of the state of origin.


Most of the Queensland players come from the state of Queensland. Most of the players are some of the most athletes’ producers in Australia.


Since its start, The Maroon had eight different coaches. Among these eight coaches, most of them have been Maroon players except the coach Graham from New Zealand.

At the end of 2017 series, Kevin Walters was the coach and saw his extended to two years. This implies that he is still in charge of this season.

The other coaches are Paul Vautin, Mark Murray, Des Morris, Mal Meninga, Wally Lewis, Michael Hagan, and Wayne Bonnet and Arthur Beetson

Top players

The Maroon has remarkable players all the way from 1980.infact; they have to over 186 player’s .here we look at the three top and latest players.

Greg Inglis

He is one of the remarkable players that were in the squad for the 2018 state of origin series. He performed a very crucial role as the team captain that season.

Daly Cherry-Evans

Though he is now sidelined for six weeks, he is one of the greatest players in regard to the state of origin league. If his syndesmosis heals in time, Daly Cherry-Evans will represent The Maroon for the 2020 season.

Last Series

The Maroon lost the 2018 state of origin series. The only won the second game of the series by 18-14 .at the start of the game they were leading by 10-0 but the four pointers from Josh Addo and penalty try from Boyd Cordner, changed everything to 12-10 before the half time.

Hall of fame

Launched in 2008, the hall of fame intends to recognize the great contribution of coaches, administrators, players, volunteers, teams and events.